Nantwich Players

search for a production

Latest news

News image

CTG Award Success

The Nantwich Players' were once again successful at the Cheshire Theatre Guild (CTG) awards scooping 4 awards wins on the night. The winners from the Players are:

Bold Girls - The Ron Gleave Shield for  Best Lighting and Sound.

Cassie and Nora in Bold Girls - The Vicky Lane Trophy for Dramatic Achievement

Anthony Jenkins as Graham in Talking Heads -  The David Lane Cup for Best Actor

Talking Heads - The Ron Arscott Shield for Best Overall Runner-Up Production

Congratulation to all involved in another successful season.  

News image

Join Us on Social Media

Remember to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for the latest news from the Nantwich players direct to your phone!
News image

One Act Play Festival Successes

Effie's Burning, our recent One Act Festival entry by Valerie Windsor, proved to be a winner... 
In the Greater Manchester Drama Festival it won the Award for Best Production, Janan Chopra won Best Performance and Helen Gresty was the runner-up Best Actress. 
In the Wilmslow Festival, the two actresses jointly won the Best Individual Senior Performer Award - the Adjudicator said she simply could not separate them - and Pauline Brennan was Highly Commended for the burns Make-up which was chillingly realistic.
News image

Nantwich Players Are Award Winners Once Again

Once again the Nantwich Players have won a handful of awards at the NSDA 2017 awards. As well as winning 4 awards we were also nominated a further 10 times. Well done to all winners and nominees!


Peter Dutton Memorial Junior Trophy Under 21 – Georgina Goodchild as Puck in Midsummer Nights Dream

Betty Bode Memorial Trophy Best Comedy Performance – Don Hirst& Simon Porter as Holmes & Watson in Hound of the Baskervilles

John Fox Memorial Award (Special Adjudicators’ Award) – Simon Porter for stepping in for the role as Watson and in Hound of the Baskervilles and learning the large and frantic script and relentlessly complex ‘business’ in just two weeks notice.

Gordon Alcock for play placed third – Hound of the Baskervilles


Rising Star Award (Under 16) – The young chorus of wolves in Wolves of Willoughby Chase (YT)

Brian Roberts Memorial Trophy Best Supporting Performance – Jonathan Everitt as Kenneth in Cleo, Camping, Emanuel and Dick; Robert Earl as Tommy in Breezeblock Park

Harold Horton Memorial Trophy Best Performance Female – Sian Weedon as Titania in Midsummer Nights Dream

Malcolm Edwards Memorial Trophy Best Performance Male - Don Hirst & Simon Porter as Holmes & Watson in Hound of the Baskervilles

John Goldsmith Memorial Rose Bowl Best Stage Presentation – Hound of the Baskervilles

John Fox Memorial Award (Special Adjudicators’ Award) – The quartet of actors for teamwork and four individually excellent performances in God of Carnage

Irene Gartside Memorial Trophy Best Director – Simon Porter for God of Carnage; Gordon Hamlin for Midsummer Nights Dream; Chris Ridge for Hound of the Baskervilles

News image

Poet Laureate To Appear At The Players

We are delighted to announce that the Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy is appearing at the Players Theatre on Saturday 14th October at 2pm.  This event is part of the Words and Music Festival taking place around the town between 9th - 15th October. Tickets are sure to sell out very quickly so why not secure yours now before they are all gone?

1 2 3 4  Next